Literary criticism by scholar Harold Bloom, focusing on the Western literary writers and works most often studied in high schools and universities. Includes 140 digital film adaptations of literary works. Includes 792 books of criticism, as well as articles from 560 periodicals.
Search across thousands of reference works, scholarly journals, and newspaper and magazine articles geared toward middle school and high school students. Contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. Additionally, it contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
1. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
2. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
3. Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Access to Flipster and Novelist available for computer users
This combined search of all our EBSCOhost products simultaneously searches TOPICsearch, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Newspaper Source, Professional Development Collection, and ERIC.
Appropriate for Elementary, Middle and High School. Includes encyclopedia articles, journals and periodicals, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that are curriculum-aligned and support student research and classroom teaching.
The most scholarly of our databases, containing 3,433 scholarly journals in many disciplines. If you find it on Google Scholar and can’t access it there, plug the title in JSTOR. Use Advanced Search to narrow to your topic by discipline. Recommended for grades 10 and up.
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It merges continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Contains the journal "Nature," but the most recent 12 months are not available. Contains the journal "Science" but only until 2005. 103 books, 400 periodicals.
A chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race from ancient times to present day. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Classroom plays and reader's theater for differentiated instruction. The worksheets and other materials developed around the story of the play will spark the students' learning. Accompanying lesson plans provide you the information you need to set objectives, select materials, and meet achievement standards.