Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Upper Elementary Digital Magazines
- Boys' Life
- Dig into History
- How It Works
- It Girl
- National Geographic Kids
- New Moon Girls
- Sports Illustrated Kids
Discovering Upper Elementary Magazines
Boys' Life is the magazine for all boys ages 7-17, and is a great tool in the education and enlightenment of their lives. Includes articles on nature, science, sports and hobbies that cater to the needs and interests of young men everywhere. Engaging and entertaining short fiction and poetry also highlights this outstanding publication.
Brainspace magazine presents a multi-sensory journey fusing digital and print media in a dynamic and compelling way. From math and science to language and art, Brainspace speaks to an academic audience of children between the ages of 8 and 14.
COBBLESTONE magazine has been telling America's story since 1980 and is the recognized leader in the study of American history for children. So fun they won't know they're learning!
For over 40 years, Cricket has delighted and entertained children and teens around the globe with the "best of the best" in children's literature. Cricket's guiding principle is the belief that imaginative young readers would respond enthusiastically to wonderful stories accompanied by world-class illustrations, without any advertising.
Dig into History
Dig Into History is the magazine where history and archaeology meet for children ages 9 to 14 years. Each issue covers an individual theme and the writers are experts in their fields. Vivid and engaging articles are accompanied by extra features like Q&A, word games and projects. Contains no ads.
How It Works
How It Works’ expert explanations, dynamic cutaways and breathtaking images help its eager audience to understand and explore the wonders of the modern world. Making complex topics accessible for readers of all ages. Includes science and technology, transportation, the environment, space, and history.
Fresh on the tween scene is It GiRL – the must-have A5-sized magazine for girls 7 – 13. In this day and age where girls seem to be growing up faster than ever, It GiRL provides a safe and trusted environment where girls can express themselves; and aspire to be whatever they dream to be.
MUSE magazine is the science and arts magazine for kids that’s spot on with the facts, but off-kilter with the jokes. Kids who can't help wondering whether video games really kill their brain cells, or what a gentleman ladybug is called, will find the answers here, in articles written by award-winning authors and accompanied by high-quality illustration and photography.
National Geographic Kids
NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC KIDS is a fact-filled, fast-paced magazine created especially for ages 6 and up. With an award-winning combination of photos, facts, and fun, NG KIDS has captivated its more than one million readers for over 35 years. Articles and departments entertain and inspire readers to learn about their world with amazing information about animals, science, technology, archaeology, geography, and pop culture, plus jokes, games, activities in every issue.
New Moon Girls
New Moon Girls is the unique, ad-free, global magazine and fully-moderated social network for learning and creative self-expression. Best quality content by/for grades 3-8 explores the world and develops empathy and confidence. Frequent Parents' Choice and Golden Lamp winner.
OWL is loaded with fascinating articles and amazing facts for 9 to 13 yr olds. Each issue includes science behind how things work, quizzes, contests, and topics on everyday life. With breaking news stories and mind-boggling puzzles, it's a thought-provoking, entertaining place for kids to grow.
Sports Illustrated Kids
Sports Illustrated KIDS delivers the excitement, passion, and fun of sports to kids, tweens and young teens in an action-oriented, authentic and interactive style. The authority on kids and sports, SI KIDS reflects the interests and humor of its audience.
Accessing Magazines via Flipster
To read Flipster on your computer, access the site (click here) where you can browse available magazines. To log in, use the standard log in and password for SAS research databases.
To read Flipster on your tablet or any mobile device, access it via the Flipster app, available through the iTunes store for the iPad and iPhone, and on the Google Play store for Android tablets. Simply download magazines to the app, where they can be managed and read offline. Once you're in the app, search for Shanghai American School and then log in. The username and password are the same as the rest of the SAS databases.
You can download and install the Flipster App from these links: