Classroom Video On-Demand
LibCasts
Finding the Databases (3:55) -- Shows you how to locate SAS research databases via saschina.org. (Access for those with a school Office 365 log-in only).
Navigating Google Scholar (7:03) -- Geared for advanced students ready for peer-reviewed journal content. Great for teachers as well as students.
How to Request a Library Purchase (2:59) -- Shows you how to use the "wish list" feature in Destiny catalog to ask the Hub Librarians to purchase a book.
NewsBank Demo (5:57) -- NewsBank is great for comparing how media coverage of an issue can change over time or be covered differently in one country than in another. This demo shows you the basics.
Peer Reviewed Literature
Slide Shows
How to Book a Room in the Hub Library Building -- With maps and directions of how to use Office 365 to reserve a room, including how to request tech support or room set up.
How to Place a Hold on a Book -- Shows you how to request a book from the closed stacks. The same technique works if a book you want is already checked out or is in another SAS library and needs to be sent over for you via Interlibrary Loan.
eBooks on Distance Learning
- Video about how to access e-Books on Distance LearningIn this 6-minute video, discover how to access the following recently acquired books on distance education.
Online Learning by
As online learning continues to become more prominent in K-12 education, it will be important that teachers are knowledgeable about both the potential of online learning and the challenges associated with moving curricula online. This book, written by a former secondary online teacher who now teaches online instructional methods to practicing K-12 teachers, addresses those challenges and offers practical, research-based approaches to creating successful online learning experiences. Both novice and experienced K-12 teachers will benefit from the author's strategies for creating engaging, learner-centered instruction in an online format. This book is unique from other practitioner-oriented books on online learning in that it focuses exclusively on adolescents' experiences with online instruction.
ISBN: 9781475801415Publication Date: 2013-08-22
Continuing to Engage the Online Learner by
Continuing to Engage the Online Learner Contributing to both the theoretical and practical literature,Continuing to Engage the Online Learner expands on the workof Conrad and Donaldson's bestselling Engaging the OnlineLearner. This next-step resource introduces a new phase totheir proven model, the Phases of Engagement, and addresses a widerange of online and hybrid learning environments, technology tools,and communication styles. Comprehensive in scope, the book provides an introduction to thetheory of engaged learning and its design, assessment, andmanagement in online and blended learning environments anddescribes the types of activities that motivate the online learnerin each phase of engagement. This down-to-earth resource alsoincludes 50 new and illustrative activities paired with each phaseof engagement. In Continuing to Engage the Online LearnerRita-Marie Conrad and J. Ana Donaldson provide relevant andtheoretically-sound information to enhance teaching and engagelearners, offering a practical handbook for instructors. "Conrad and Donaldson have done it again! Not only have theypresented a solid and useful discussion of the phases ofengagement, they have brought the theory alive through thepresentation of practical activities that would work well in anyonline or hybrid course." --Rena Palloff, faculty, FieldingGraduate University and author, The Excellent OnlineInstructor
ISBN: 9781118000175Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Managing Online Instructor Workload by
Managing Online Instructor Workload is a groundbreaking bookthat offers strategies, advice, illustrative examples, and afour-step process for identifying challenges and rethinking,prioritizing, managing, and balancing one's online instructionworkload. Based on surveys and interviews with successful onlineinstructors, the book is filled with timely and comprehensiveinsight that is essential for online instructors, instructionaldesigners, faculty developers, and anyone who wants to succeed inonline learning. Praise for Managing Online Instructor Workload "Managing Online Instructor Workload breaks the pattern of priordistance learning books with its research-based orientation byincluding a broad range of experience. This is a valuable resourceto encourage greater faculty persistence andadoption."--Kathleen P. King, professor of higher education,University of South Florida, Tampa "This is a must-read for all online instructors who strive notonly to provide a high-quality learning experience for theirstudents but also maintain a quality life of theirown!"--Rita-Marie Conrad, online educator and author "Do you teach online? Do you need sleep? Here is the first bookthat I know of that will allow you to do both'no more endless hourswasted online attempting to be an effectiveinstructor."--Curtis J. Bonk, professor, Indiana University
ISBN: 9780470888421Publication Date: 2011-07-20
Handbook of Distance Education by
The Handbook of Distance Education, 4th Edition is a comprehensive compendium of research in the field of distance education. The volume is divided into four sections covering the historical and theoretical foundations of distance education, attributes of teaching and learning using technology, management and administration, and different audiences and providers. Throughout, leading scholars address future research needs and directions based on current research, established practices, and recent changes to implementation, pedagogy, and policy.
ISBN: 131529611XPublication Date: 2018-12-07
SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education
"The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses, with a central focus on the effective education of students."-- SAGE Publishing website.
Online education, both by for-profit institutions and within traditional universities, has seen recent tremendous growth and appeal - but online education has many aspects that are not well understood. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses—with a central focus on the effective education of students. Key topics explored through over 350 entries include: · Technology used in the online classroom · Institutions that have contributed to the growth of online education · Pedagogical basis and strategies of online education · Effectiveness and assessment · Different types of online education and best practices · The changing role of online education in the global education system.
ISBN: 9781483318349- Online Education by
Online Education is a comprehensive exploration of blended and fully online teaching platforms, addressing history, theory, research, planning, and practice. As colleges, universities, and schools around the world adopt large-scale technologies and traditional class models shift into seamless, digitally interactive environments, critical insights are needed into the implications for administration and pedagogy. Written by a major contributor to the field, this book contextualizes online education in the past and present before analyzing its fundamental changes to instruction, program integration, social interaction, content construction, networked media, policy, and more. A provocative concluding chapter speculates on the future of education as the sector becomes increasingly dependent on learning technologies.
ISBN: 1351851071Publication Date: 2018-07-17
