What's the username and password? Here they are! (This link will work for those with an saschina.org email address. Passwords are only for our community and must not be shared outside of SAS.)
How do I use ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines? If you have trouble, take a look at the Help with Sora, Flipster, and rbDigital tab above for directions about how to get access and log-in via your browser or a free app.
AP YouTube Channel
Livestreamed and archived review and content lessons offered by US teachers during COVID-19 closure
Paid Subscriptions to Lit
- Full text of 2600 poems
- Full text of over 1,000 literary classics
- Nearly 1,000 videos, including dramatic productions, documentaries, feature films, interviews, and lectures
- Dramatic Learning This link opens in a new window
Classroom plays and reader's theater for differentiated instruction. The worksheets and other materials developed around the story of the play will spark the students' learning. Accompanying lesson plans provide you the information you need to set objectives, select materials, and meet achievement standards.
Magazines
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of dozens of popular contemporary magazines.
Video Content
- Learn360 This link opens in a new window
Streaming multimedia resources for K–12. Includes embeddable videos, interactive STEM lessons, audio content, and maps and flags. Filter by grade level (all grades, elementary, or middle/high) for targeted browsing. Good for flipped classrooms, blended instruction, project-based learning, and 1:1 environments.
- Learn360 Demo for Teachers12 minute screencast by SAS PXMS librarian Kathy Lynch that highlights the major features.
Literary Criticism and Reference
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism by scholar Harold Bloom, focusing on the Western literary writers and works most often studied in high schools and universities. Includes 140 digital film adaptations of literary works. Includes 792 books of criticism, as well as articles from 560 periodicals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The most scholarly of our databases, containing 3,433 scholarly journals in many disciplines. If you find it on Google Scholar and can’t access it there, plug the title in JSTOR. Use Advanced Search to narrow to your topic by discipline. Recommended for grades 10 and up. - EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
Contains a section visible on the home page that is devoted to "Arts and Literature," which includes biographies of writers and literary overviews and criticism of major works.
Self-Selected Reading
- Novelist This link opens in a new window
NoveList is a comprehensive readers' advisory solution for fiction lovers. Titles owned by the library will have "check PX or PD Secondary Library for availability" hotlinked to our library catalog. - Sora This link opens in a new window
Sora is the platform for Overdrive Book collections in school libraries. The Libraries of SAS collection includes ebooks and audiobooks for grades 3 and up. Log in with your student or parent ID.
Need a Class Set of Ebooks?
It's possible for the librarians to purchase a classroom set of novels on the Sora platform. Overdrive has dramatically expanded the number of titles that are available this way in the past two weeks, so if there's something you're interested in teaching, please ask your librarian if it's available.
Class Sets allow your whole class to read the same digital title at the same time, with one dedicated copy available for each user during a lending period that's usually 2 months long. This per-user lending model is less expensive (about 6USD per book), and during distance learning your department won't have to foot the bill because the library will do it for you!
To purchase a Class Set, you'll need to know your desired start date and the user IDs for students who should receive the title.
For EAL Students
- BrainPOP for English Language Learners This link opens in a new window
BrainPOP's English language instruction site is for English Language Learners of all ages. The curriculum is comprised of short, animated movies that use authentic English.
- Many of our subscriptions have the option of sorting by lexile level. All the Gale databases give an easy color-coded rating on a five-point scale to help students find articles and information written at a variety of reading levels. Ask your librarian for a demo of how to use the lexile tools within the library databases.
- ESL BitsClassics for MS/HS available to read and listen to.
Online Free Literature
- Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
A library of over 60,000 free eBooks in epub and Kindle versions. Download or read online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. - LibriVox This link opens in a new window
An "acoustical liberation of books in the public domain" in over 40 languages, LibriVox offers audiobooks read by volunteers that you can download for free.
- ESL BitsClassics for MS/HS available to read and listen to.
- Audible Stories: Free During Pandemic"For as long as schools are closed, we're open. Starting today, kids everywhere can instantly stream a collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet."
Created by
Marie Slaby
SAS Puxi High School Librarian
Marie.Slaby@saschina.org