LibGuides: Mathematics and Computer Science Digital Library: Home

Video Content and STEM Interactive Lessons

Learn360 This link opens in a new window
Streaming multimedia resources for K–12. Includes embeddable videos, interactive STEM lessons, audio content, and maps and flags. Filter by grade level (all grades, elementary, or middle/high) for targeted browsing. Good for flipped classrooms, blended instruction, project-based learning, and 1:1 environments.

Full Steam Ahead
STEAM Lessons with activities for students of all ages.
MIT Blossoms
A video library of over 150 lessons for high schoolers. Each is ~50 minutes long.
Highlights for High School
Contains both materials from MIT high school outreach programs and resources collected from the MIT undergraduate curriculum. In addition, HFHS contains a section that provides materials to aid students studying for the Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Calculus Advanced Placement exams. They even have their own reality show, ChemLab Bootcamp, about what it’s like to work in a lab!

Timelines This link opens in a new window
Browse World Book's timelines by topic. Create your own timeline by searching the World Book database for events, writing your own events, or a combination of the two. Add media from World Book or upload your own images to bring your timelines to life. Mathematics and Computers are represented under the category of Science and Technology.

Science in Context This link opens in a new window
In the BROWSE TOPICS section on the home page, you can click into 151 topics under the heading of Math, Engineering, and Technology. These include curated collections of articles on Quantum computing, Ratio, Proportion, and Percent, Fibonacci, Artificial Intelligence, Euclid, Rational and irrational numbers, Functions, Equations, Conic sections, Computer Animation, Triangles, CAD/CAM, Calculus, Derivatives, and more.

IXL
For upper elementary and middle schoolers to practice skills. Teachers can direct and monitor student use and send feedback through Schoology and recommend what they should do next.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Need statistics and infographics? Quantitative data on a wide variety of topics, including business and tech-based topics such as internet usage and attitudes, online shopping, digital music, videogames, online dating, online and mobile payments, and social media. Note: on-campus access only.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains over 60 mathematics journals, over 30 statistics journals, and 6 computer science journals.

Illuminations by NCTM
This site, from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, features complete lesson plans, mobile games for students, interactive activities, and brain teasers. Grades: PreK–12
National Library of Virtual Manipulatives
This National Science Foundation-supported project provides a large library of uniquely interactive, web-based virtual manipulatives and concept tutorials for math instruction. Grades: K–12
Quizlet
Check with your Tech Coach to see if your division has a subscription to this site, where students can create study flashcards, play learning games, practice skills, and collaborate with other students. Grades: 5–12
PBS Math Club
These fresh videos cover the Common Core Standards for math topics like adding and subtracting integers, equations, ratios and proportions, and statistics. Grades: 6-9.
GeoGebra
Graphing calculator for functions, geometry, algebra, calculus, statistics, and 3-D math. Includes practice sheets. Grades: 9–12.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
An open access wiki containing original articles from the online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics (2002). With more than 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics, the Encyclopaedia of Mathematics was the most up-to-date graduate-level reference work in the field of mathematics.

EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
On the home page, there is a link to Curriculum Standards, which guides you how to search for information on math topics within the Common Core Math standards by grade level. Also use the BROWSE TOPICS feature under Science and Math to find curated information on Absolute Value, Algebra, Artificial Intelligence, Biometrics, Celsius and Kelvin Scales, Computation, Euclidean geometry, Game Theory (Applied Science), Law of multiple proportions, Real Numbers, Temperature, Video games, Virtual Reality, Volume.

Stanford Engineering Everywhere
Free access to courses and tools used by Stanford undergraduates to master the basics of computing, artificial intelligence and electrical engineering. Also available to educators. Courses include programming methodology, abstractions and paradigms, machine learning, introduction to robotics, convex optimization and an introduction to linear dynamical systems.
MIT OpenCourseWare
Access teaching materials for nearly all of MIT's courses. General categories include mathematics and computer science. These resources can provide real support for students across a wide range of disciplines.
W3schools
For students interested in practical help for programming and coding languages, w3schools.com offers easy-to-understand examples and in-depth tutorials on AJAX, SQL, ASP, CSS, JavaScript and HTML markup code.
Code Academy
Self-directed study and basic coursework is available for free through the website.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Under the "Suggested Topics" > STEM, you'll find Mathematics topics in Calculus, Data Manipulation, Data Statistics, Equations, Fractals, Geometry, and Probability. Also Information Technology topics on Artificial Intelligence, Data Backup, Data Management, and Net Neutrality. Security topics on Cryptography, Encryption, Hacking, Identity Theft, Malware, Phishing, and Software Piracy. Programming topics on the Cloud and Java and JavaScript.
NewsELA This link opens in a new window
Use your Office 365 sign-in to access this database.

Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted source. Citations available