Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's the username and password? Here they are! (This link will work for those with an saschina.org email address. Passwords are only for our community and must not be shared outside of SAS.)
How do I use ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines? If you have trouble, take a look at the Help with Sora, & Flipster tab above for directions about how to get access and log-in via your browser or a free app.
Video Content and STEM Interactive Lessons
Learn360 This link opens in a new window
Streaming multimedia resources for K–12. Includes embeddable videos, interactive STEM lessons, audio content, and maps and flags. Filter by grade level (all grades, elementary, or middle/high) for targeted browsing. Good for flipped classrooms, blended instruction, project-based learning, and 1:1 environments.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted source. Citations available
Statistics, Marketing, & Business
Statista This link opens in a new window
Full Steam Ahead
STEAM Lessons with activities for students of all ages.
A video library of over 150 lessons for high schoolers. Each is ~50 minutes long.
Highlights for High School
Contains both materials from MIT high school outreach programs and resources collected from the MIT undergraduate curriculum. In addition, HFHS contains a section that provides materials to aid students studying for the Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Calculus Advanced Placement exams. They even have their own reality show, ChemLab Bootcamp, about what it’s like to work in a lab!
ChemSpider A free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, it enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Science in Context
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. It merges continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Contains the journal "Nature," but the most recent 12 months are not available. Contains the journal "Science" but only until 2005. 103 books, 400 periodicals.
EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of reference works, scholarly journals, and newspaper and magazine articles geared toward middle school and high school students.
From the home page, see a hundred topic overviews in the Science & Math section that provide students with a starting point for research. Topics range from acids and bases to zygote.
EBSCO Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including "American Fitness," "Better Nutrition," "Fit Pregnancy," "Harvard Health Letter," "Men's Health," "Muscle & Fitness," "Prevention," "Vegetarian Times," and more. Also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, it contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports; AHFS Consumer Medication Information; and "Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary."
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Focusing on frequently debated contemporary topics, this includes 50 topics on Energy and Environmentalism, nearly 80 on Heath and Medicine, and over 100 on Science, Technology, and Ethics. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and periodicals.
The Encyclopedia of Earth
A free, expert-reviewed wiki collection of content contributed by scholar/professionals who collaborate and review each other's work.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Science-themed magazines include:
* Science News
* Scientific American
* American Scientist
* Scientific American Mind
* Popular Science
Timelines by World Book
Timelines This link opens in a new window
Browse World Book's timelines by topic. Create your own timeline by searching the World Book database for events, writing your own events, or a combination of the two. Add media from World Book or upload your own images to bring your timelines to life. The Science & Technology section includes timelines in astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, inventors, medicine, physical sciences, physics, scientists, and transportation.
Science in the News
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news publications from countries worldwide. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Use it to explore national perspectives and various viewpoints on topics such as health, sports, natural disasters, and the environment.
NewsELA This link opens in a new window
Use your Office 365 sign-in to access this database.
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The most scholarly of our databases, containing 3,433 scholarly journals in many disciplines. If you find it on Google Scholar and can’t access it there, plug the title in JSTOR. Use Advanced Search to hone in on the journals focused on Agriculture journals, Aquatic Science, Astronomy, Biological Science, Botany and Plant Science, Developmental and Cell Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Environmental Science, Geology, Health Sciences,Horticulture, Paleontology, and Zoology. Recommended for grades 10 and up.
JoVE Science Education Videos
SAS Puxi High School Librarian