What's the username and password? Here they are! (This link will work for those with an saschina.org email address. Passwords are only for our community and must not be shared outside of SAS.)
How do I use ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines? If you have trouble, take a look at the Help with Sora & Flipster tab above for directions about how to get access and log-in via your browser or a free app.
Video Content
- Learn360 This link opens in a new window
Streaming multimedia resources for K–12. Includes embeddable videos, interactive STEM lessons, audio content, and maps and flags. Filter by grade level (all grades, elementary, or middle/high) for targeted browsing. Good for flipped classrooms, blended instruction, project-based learning, and 1:1 environments.
- Learn360 Demo for Teachers12 minute screencast by SAS PXMS librarian Kathy Lynch that highlights the major features.
- Social Studies PlaylistIncludes Economics
- China on FilmChinese history through film from the British Film Institute China collection. Provides insights into China’s momentous changes, from the first ever Chinese film in the Qing dynasty through to the Communist era.
- Silk Road SeriesFollow in the footsteps of illustrious predecessors, from Alexander the Great to Marco Polo in these 15 videos. Journey through through six countries, encountering specialists, historians, and everyday people who will help you grasp the past and present identities of those countries. 26 minutes each.
Teaching Primary, Secondary, Tertiary Resources
How to Locate Primary Sources
- In Gale databases, if your search terms bring up primary sources, they will be listed in their own section.
Or you can use the Advanced Search feature and use the drop down box next to by content type: to select "Primary Sources" - In EBSCO databases, if your search terms bring up primary sources, you can look at the Refine Results box on the left-hand side of the page and scroll down to where it says Source Types to select the "Primary Source Documents"
Or you can use the Advanced Search feature and use the Special limiters for MAS Ultra - School Edition to select Primary Source Document. - Encyclopedia Britannica is also a reliable source to get copies of primary source documents such as The Gettysburg Address, The Bill of Rights, the Federalist Papers, etc.
- Google News ArchiveOffers PDFs of historic newspapers online. Though Google discontinued the archiving project many years ago, the historical newspapers that were previously digitized remain.
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The most scholarly of our databases, containing 3,433 scholarly journals in many disciplines. If you find it on Google Scholar and can’t access it there, plug the title in JSTOR. Use Advanced Search to narrow to your topic by discipline. Recommended for grades 10 and up.Use Advanced Search to narrow to journals in African American Studies (19 titles), African Studies (58 titles), American Indian Studies (8 titles), American Studies (81 titles), Asian Studies (129 titles), British Studies (7 titles), Feminist & Women's Studies (36 titles), Folklore (17 titles), Irish Studies (48 titles), Jewish Studies (58 titles), Latin American Studies (55 titles), Marketing & Advertising (13 titles), Middle East Studies (64 titles), Slavic Studies (18 titles).
- In EBSCO databases, use the Advanced Search feature and check the box that says "Peer Reviewed."
- In Gale databases, you can locate them by using the Advanced Search and checking the box that says "Peer-Reviewed Journals"
Images Database
- Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted source. Citations available
Timelines by World Book
- Timelines This link opens in a new window
Browse World Book's timelines by topic. Create your own timeline by searching the World Book database for events, writing your own events, or a combination of the two. Add media from World Book or upload your own images to bring your timelines to life.
Conducting Research
30 Essential Skills for the Qualitative Researcher by Focus on the social, behavioral, and health sciences. Offers effective techniques and procedures with many applied examples from research design, qualitative inquiry, and mixed methods.
Research Methodology by For those with no previous experience of research or research methodology, it breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into eight manageable operational steps. Formulating a research question, ethical considerations, carrying out a literature review, choosing a research design, selecting a sample, collecting and analysing qualitative and quantitative data, writing a research report. Focus is on social studies.
Practical Research: Planning and Design by A cross-disciplinary manual for planning and conducting research, from the selection of a problem, through the process of conducting authentic research, to the preparation of a completed report, with practical suggestions throughout.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of reference works, scholarly journals, and newspaper and magazine articles geared toward middle school and high school students. Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. Additionally, it contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic, such as Business & Government, Geography, History, and Current Issues. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Focusing on frequently debated contemporary topics, this cross-curricular research database supports social studies and current events. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
It's a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
A sample of topics includes consumer debt, politics and media, criminal justice, outsourcing, population growth, domestic surveillance, sharing economy, espionage and intelligence, US economy, terrorism, wage discrimination, World Trade Organization, world economy, immigration, teen suicide, eating disorders, poverty, and more. - Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Appropriate for Elementary, Middle and High School. Includes encyclopedia articles, journals and periodicals, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that are curriculum-aligned and support student research and classroom teaching. - World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-understand encyclopedia. Includes Timelines: Literature, Notable People, Science & Technology, Sports & Games, Systems & Institutions, The Arts, World History, and Continents, Countries & Regions
Magazines
- Flipster This link opens in a new window
Social Studies themed magazines include:
* American History
* Time
* World War II
* Scientific American Mind
In the News
- NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news publications from countries worldwide. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Use it to explore national perspectives and various viewpoints on topics such politics, business, cultural activities, mental health, military life, and world conflict.
- All Sides
A website devoted to showing the political left, right, and center perspectives on recent news issues. Includes a media bias chart about the leanings of many news sources.
Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Need statistics and infographics? Quantitative data on a wide variety of topics, including business and tech-based topics such as internet usage and attitudes, online shopping, digital music, videogames, online dating, online and mobile payments, and social media. Note: on-campus access only.
History
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Browse U.S. history topics — or search for a person, place, or subject — to find a range of relevant content, including academic articles and digitized primary sources. It merges authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites
Content includes reference books, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. U.S. History In Context is cross-searchable with World History In Context. Contains "The Economist" magazine and "The New York Times."
It includes browseable sections in Economics; Religions; Political Constructs, Movements, and Organizations; Wars and Conflicts; Countries, Cultures, and Civilizations; Events, Periods, and Cultural Trends. - World History in Context This link opens in a new window
A chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race from ancient times to present day. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.
In Defense of History by Explains how historians learn about the past, what tools they use, how they conduct their research, and how the techniques and processes have changed over the years.
The Pursuit of History by The essential introduction to methodology in history.
Society and Culture
- Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
Individual reports offer perspectives on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people in 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces. Includes a worldwide photo gallery, slideshows, video clips, famous people collection, Faces of the World interviews and a unique recipe collection that offers five homegrown recipes from all countries in the database. Plus, sortable (create-your-own) data tables help put dozens of facts into perspective. - World History in Context This link opens in a new windowHas a BROWSE TOPICS section with over a hundred topics related to Countries, Cultures, and Civilizations.
Economics
- World History in Context This link opens in a new windowHas a BROWSE TOPICS section devoted to over 20 Economics topics: Capitalism, Charity and Philanthropy, Coffee Industry, European Financial Crisis of 2008-2009, Fairs and Markets, Globalization, Great Depression, Industrial Revolution, John Maynard Keynes, Marxism, Mercantilism, Mining, Oil and Oil Production, Panama Canal, Pirates and Piracy, Property and Property Rights, Rice and Rice Production, Shipping Industry, Silk Road, Adam Smith (Scottish economist),! Socialism, Sugar and Sugar Production, and Textile Industry.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains content from over 180 Economics journals. Find them using Advanced Search.
Psychology
- EBSCO Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.Cross-searchable in EBSCOhost. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains content from 35 Psychology journals. Find them using Advanced Search.
Doing Psychology Experiments by Learn how to design, execute, interpret, and report on simple psychology experiments! David W. Martin blends humor, clear instruction, and solid scholarship to make this concise text a perfect introduction to research methods in psychology. Martin emphasizes the decision-making aspects of research, as well as the logic behind research procedures. He also devotes two separate chapters to many of the ethical questions that confront new experimenters - giving you a complete introduction to the psychology laboratory.
Created by
Marie Slaby
SAS Puxi High School Librarian
Marie.Slaby@saschina.org