Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Microsoft Teams 101
Download the app first by going to https://teams.microsoft.com/downloads. Use your school login information to set it up. Have the app open as you work through the guides to familiarize yourself with the interface and features.
The links are in a recommended order, starting with creating a Team for your students.
(credit to Annalee Higgenbottom)
Here's the document that shows how to setup and record sessions for a whole Team to access and how to setup and record sessions for specific attendees only (a common use case being remediation sessions that you would rather not share to a larger group of students): 10 Creating Recordings of Teams Meetings.docx
Creating Open Teams For Office Hours
How to create sessions that are open to any students, not just those of a particular class or course:
1 – Create a generic office hours team (see tech guide above)
2 – Share your team with students
Option 1 - Create a link to share the team by clicking on the three dots next to your team name and then select “Get link to team.” Share the link and students can request to join your team, you will still need to approve them.
Option 2 – Create a code to share the team by clicking on the three dots next to your team name and then select “Manage team.”
Looking for Schoology Help?
Find Schoology help by clicking the tab above that says "Tech Instructional Coach Tips," which will take you to links to their weekly updates.
Puxi High School teachers' Schoology pages can be reviewed. This Teacher Guide, shows you how to get read-only access to those pages.
Schoology Guidelines For Distance Learning
Published by Jason Teifel, intended for all PXMS, PXHS, and PDMS faculty as an addendum to any existing divisional Schoology guidelines, agreements and expectations.
This document contains
· Guidelines for creating assignments in Schoology (in addition to any already established divisional guidelines)
· Expectations for how Grade Book Exceptions (i.e. Incomplete and Missing) are used in Schoology
Make & Edit Screencasts
How to Use QuickTime
QuickTime Player (already installed on your school laptop) can record a movie from your camera, or record the screen of your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. It can also record audio from a microphone or record the screen of your Mac. It's recommended that you compress your files to 480p when exporting to make them quicker for students to load when watching.
Expert teachers say that editing your screencast in QuickTime is do-able, but clunky. They recommend pulling your screencast into iMovie to edit. iMovie also allows you to create all sorts of videos and edit them. And it's already pre-installed on your school laptop.
Credit goes to the collective hive mind of David Gran, Larry Ehnert, and Dakota Cronin for this advice to teachers.
Learn360 This link opens in a new window
Streaming multimedia resources for K–12. Includes embeddable videos, interactive STEM lessons, audio content, and maps and flags. Filter by grade level (all grades, elementary, or middle/high) for targeted browsing. Good for flipped classrooms, blended instruction, project-based learning, and 1:1 environments.
Learn360 Demo for Teachers
12 minute screencast by SAS PXMS librarian Kathy Lynch that highlights the major features.
1. Find a video
2. Add questions and additional resources
3. Share lesson with students
4. Track their progress
A list of 20 of the lesser-known hacks, tips, and features YouTube has to offer, including
1. Create a YouTube time link to start a video at certain points.
2. See the written transcript of a video.
3.Browse and download from YouTube's free sound and music library.
4. Upload and watch videos in 360 degrees and VR.
Premium Access to Meditation App
Many of us are experiencing the strain of having our routines and comforts disrupted, and finding balance and taking care of ourselves will likely require some adjustments. We need to take care of both our physical states but also our mental states, and fortunately SAS has free subscriptions to the very well-regarded meditation app Headspace.
To sign up for a Headspace Educator account click this link and use your SAS email address to sign up (your SAS email address is required - personal emails will not work). This will also work with student accounts, so please feel free to use the app with your classes as well.
How to Update Your Time Zone
Click on the image to check that your devices (laptops, phones, and tablets), your Microsoft account and Schoology account are all set to your current time zone.
eBooks on Distance Learning
Online Learning by As online learning continues to become more prominent in K-12 education, it will be important that teachers are knowledgeable about both the potential of online learning and the challenges associated with moving curricula online. This book, written by a former secondary online teacher who now teaches online instructional methods to practicing K-12 teachers, addresses those challenges and offers practical, research-based approaches to creating successful online learning experiences. Both novice and experienced K-12 teachers will benefit from the author's strategies for creating engaging, learner-centered instruction in an online format. This book is unique from other practitioner-oriented books on online learning in that it focuses exclusively on adolescents' experiences with online instruction.
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
Continuing to Engage the Online Learner by Continuing to Engage the Online Learner Contributing to both the theoretical and practical literature,Continuing to Engage the Online Learner expands on the workof Conrad and Donaldson's bestselling Engaging the OnlineLearner. This next-step resource introduces a new phase totheir proven model, the Phases of Engagement, and addresses a widerange of online and hybrid learning environments, technology tools,and communication styles. Comprehensive in scope, the book provides an introduction to thetheory of engaged learning and its design, assessment, andmanagement in online and blended learning environments anddescribes the types of activities that motivate the online learnerin each phase of engagement. This down-to-earth resource alsoincludes 50 new and illustrative activities paired with each phaseof engagement. In Continuing to Engage the Online LearnerRita-Marie Conrad and J. Ana Donaldson provide relevant andtheoretically-sound information to enhance teaching and engagelearners, offering a practical handbook for instructors. "Conrad and Donaldson have done it again! Not only have theypresented a solid and useful discussion of the phases ofengagement, they have brought the theory alive through thepresentation of practical activities that would work well in anyonline or hybrid course." --Rena Palloff, faculty, FieldingGraduate University and author, The Excellent OnlineInstructor
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Managing Online Instructor Workload by Managing Online Instructor Workload is a groundbreaking bookthat offers strategies, advice, illustrative examples, and afour-step process for identifying challenges and rethinking,prioritizing, managing, and balancing one's online instructionworkload. Based on surveys and interviews with successful onlineinstructors, the book is filled with timely and comprehensiveinsight that is essential for online instructors, instructionaldesigners, faculty developers, and anyone who wants to succeed inonline learning. Praise for Managing Online Instructor Workload "Managing Online Instructor Workload breaks the pattern of priordistance learning books with its research-based orientation byincluding a broad range of experience. This is a valuable resourceto encourage greater faculty persistence andadoption."--Kathleen P. King, professor of higher education,University of South Florida, Tampa "This is a must-read for all online instructors who strive notonly to provide a high-quality learning experience for theirstudents but also maintain a quality life of theirown!"--Rita-Marie Conrad, online educator and author "Do you teach online? Do you need sleep? Here is the first bookthat I know of that will allow you to do both'no more endless hourswasted online attempting to be an effectiveinstructor."--Curtis J. Bonk, professor, Indiana University
Publication Date: 2011-07-20
Handbook of Distance Education by The Handbook of Distance Education, 4th Edition is a comprehensive compendium of research in the field of distance education. The volume is divided into four sections covering the historical and theoretical foundations of distance education, attributes of teaching and learning using technology, management and administration, and different audiences and providers. Throughout, leading scholars address future research needs and directions based on current research, established practices, and recent changes to implementation, pedagogy, and policy.
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education "The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses, with a central focus on the effective education of students."-- SAGE Publishing website.
Online education, both by for-profit institutions and within traditional universities, has seen recent tremendous growth and appeal - but online education has many aspects that are not well understood. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses—with a central focus on the effective education of students. Key topics explored through over 350 entries include: · Technology used in the online classroom · Institutions that have contributed to the growth of online education · Pedagogical basis and strategies of online education · Effectiveness and assessment · Different types of online education and best practices · The changing role of online education in the global education system.
Online Education by Online Education is a comprehensive exploration of blended and fully online teaching platforms, addressing history, theory, research, planning, and practice. As colleges, universities, and schools around the world adopt large-scale technologies and traditional class models shift into seamless, digitally interactive environments, critical insights are needed into the implications for administration and pedagogy. Written by a major contributor to the field, this book contextualizes online education in the past and present before analyzing its fundamental changes to instruction, program integration, social interaction, content construction, networked media, policy, and more. A provocative concluding chapter speculates on the future of education as the sector becomes increasingly dependent on learning technologies.
Publication Date: 2018-07-17
How To Use Flipgrid: A Visual Guide For Teachers
Flipgrid is a free, education-focused platform to create and share short videos. Acquired by Microsoft in June 2018, Flipgrid includes video downloads, video feedback options, stickers and drawings for videos, custom assessment rubrics, video feedback, MixTapes, topic invites, private share links, Vibes, and more. This guide will help you get started.
YouTube 10-Minute Tutorial on FlipGrid
Jerry Koontz recommends this tutorial: "Recording a video is just the beginning as you can also set up assignments within your “Grid”. A “Grid” is really just a class (i.e. Asian History) so you can set up lessons within each “Grid” on specific topics. You can then link or upload videos from YouTube or record your own to help inform and instruct. (Language teachers should definitely take a look at this.)"
Dan Inn's FlipGrid Lesson
Dan from PXHS created this tutorial for SAS. Register for Flipgrid using your saschina.org email in order to access it. Thanks, Dan!
In real-time or across time zones, students can contribute videos, images, comments on a virtual corkboard. Each student can comment or reply to the work of another student or add a new strand on the topic that is introduced.
Creating buy-in and building background information can be difficult with Distance Learning. Another great site for gauging student preferences is Mentimeter.com. Pose a question such as “When do you think SAS campus will reopen?” Give them some choices and a link to vote and see their answers. Give it a try! Example: Go to the site to vote on this question. Use the code “71 95 86” (credit to Jerry Koontz)
- Getting students to summarize and focus in on what is really important can be a challenge. Using the “Tweet” strategy can be a useful tool. Have students write an opinion statement about the concept being presented in an infographic, reading, video or presentation. The rules: It must be less than 140 characters and include a # statement - Just like Twitter. Have them Post their tweet on the wall in the classroom, message board, or using the backchannel template in Padlet.
Example: Present the infographic below and have them summarize their reaction to the information presented.
Example Tweet: Our lives are happening right in front of our faces but on a screen. #digitalrevolution, #Facebooksucks
Click on the graphic below to add your own Tweet to the discussion
(credit to Jerry Koontz)
General Faculty Information
From the Wellness Committee
Will It Work Without VPN?
If you would like any websites, resources, or URLs checked to see if they will function properly within China without a VPN, please email them to email@example.com. The Helpdesk is checked 24/7.
Two China-based video streaming services house a variety of useful and relevant content, available in a variety of languages. Links to clips can be shared directly and be accessible to students, no matter their geographical location.
1. Youku, the digital movie platform similar to Youtube, is accessible for our students in and around Shanghai. There are a lot of videos on the streaming service that could be useful for students in your classes, including Khan Academy. Using the search command at the top, you can find videos covering a lot of topics.
2. Bilibili is similar, and works to organize videos by categories as well.
(credit: Tiefel and Higginbottom)
Make Videos Load Faster
Compress your files! Teachers are strongly encouraged to make all shared video files as small as possible- less than 40MB is ideal. It is easily done in Quicktime or in iMovie.
In Quicktime simply chose File > Export as > and pick the size you want, the smaller the number the smaller the file size...but the lower the quality. For most things even 480p will be fine, especially those instructional narration videos.
In iMovie when you begin the process of creating the movie (File > Share > File) you will have a handy popup window (see second screenshot) that not only lets you chose the Resolution (the numbers again) but the Quality as well. What's really handy is it also gives you an estimate of the file size on the left under the preview picture.
(credit Jason Tiefel)
Or use the app Handbrake.
NOTE: Video content created in Teams is automatically uploaded to Stream and links can be shared with students through a Schoology link. There is no need to compress this further.
Project Audio: Teaching Students How to Produce Their Own Podcasts
The New York Times created this mini-unit that walks students through the process of analyzing the techniques that make for good storytelling, interviewing and podcasting. The activities culminate in students producing their own original podcasts. NOTE: NYT requires VPN and a free registration for you to access this. So you will need to modify for student use.
Royalty Free Sounds & Music
Check with your Tech Coach to see if your division has a subscription to this site, where students can create study flashcards, play learning games, practice skills, and collaborate with other students. Grades: 5–12
For upper elementary and middle schoolers to practice skills. Teachers can direct and monitor student use and send feedback through Schoology and recommend what they should do next.
Blogging With Students
This free self-paced course from Edublogger.com guides you step-by-step through the process of setting up a class blog and blogging with students. Includes a PDF workbook to keep you on track and focused as you work through the 11 steps.
More Professional Learning
SAS Puxi High School Librarian