Skip to main content

Puxi Elementary School: Home

Catalog Search

ES Databases

SAS's research databases are accessible at school and at home. In school the databases are free access. At home the databases require login and password entries. If you need assistance, please see your librarian or librarian assistants.

eBooks and Digital Magazines

Library Hours

Monday-Thursday
7:45 AM to 4:00 PM 

Friday
7:45 AM to 3:30 PM

One Saturday/Month
9:00 AM to 12:00 PM

Library Staff

The library is staffed by a teacher librarian, Beth Rohrbeck. Beth is an experienced educator who collaborates with teachers to integrate library and information seeking skills into the curriculum. She works to empower children to be critical thinkers, enthusiastic readers, skilled researchers, and ethical users of information.  She plans and implements reading and literature appreciation activities as well as community events. There are three library assistants - Fintje Wijono, Liza Perico, and Cherry Huang.

Contact:
Shanghai American School
(8621) 6221-1445 ext. 4010
Social:

Book Borrowing Guidelines


Parents and students are encouraged to visit the library often. Everyone who has a valid SAS identification card can borrow books from the library. Students have opportunities to borrow books through regular classes, break times, and after school. Each classroom visits the library once a week for browsing and borrowing. PreK3, PreK4, Kindergarten, and First Grade have a weekly library class in addition to their browsing and borrowing time.

Loan Periods:

  • Books: 2 weeks
  • Audio Books (iPods & play-aways): 2 weeks
  • Kindles: 2 weeks
  • Magazines: Checkout back issues
  • Overdue: Patrons will be notified of overdue books via email

Library Overview

The library is a large, welcoming media center consisting of more than 45,000 items available to SAS students, family, and staff.  It is a center for literacy and research - a place that fosters and celebrates the love of reading and a place that acts as a learning and social hub for the whole school community. Our maker spaces, the iHub and the TinkerLab, are places to use technology and traditional craft materials to solve problems, innovate and create. It is in constant use for both curricular and extra-curricular activities.

We have an extensive collection of both print and non-print materials. The library includes technology such as electronic books, audiobooks, and on-line streaming for educational purposes. The library’s resources extend far beyond our walls with subscriptions to online databases and digital magazines. We offer a range of digital resources to help students in school and at home. Students are given access to our Libguides to guide them in the effective use of databases, digital collections, and other electronic subscriptions to help with class work.

SAS Library Mission and Vision

Saturday Family Library Dates

The library is open one Saturday each month from 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM. Parents and their children are encouraged to come spend a few hours in the welcoming and warm environment browsing, reading, and borrowing books. 

  • August 24
  • September 21
  • October 26
  • November 16
  • December 14
  • January 18
  • February 22
  • March 21
  • April 18
  • May 16

Library Special Events

September:

Sept 16-20 - Artist Hanoch Piven

Sept 15 - International Dot Day

October:

Oct 14-18 - Book Fair

Oct 28-Nov 1 - Author Elana K. Arnold

December:

Holiday Reading Cafe

February:

Panda Award Voting

March:

Mar 6 - ES Battle of the Books

April:

April 13-17 - Author LeUyen Pham and Meg Medina

Online Book Selection Tools

NoveList is an interactive database that has the ability to recommend books based on description, author, or title. NoveList also has recommended reading lists for children, teens, and adults, as well as links to book award lists and fiction related websites. 

 

Ever craved a good book and just not been inspired by anything you see? Or felt annoyed that you bought a book that was merely so-so? Or closed a book and JUST wanted to talk about it? Or wished you had a place to discover new books? This site has thoughtful book reviews, compelling features, in-depth author profiles and interviews, excerpts of the hottest new releases, contests and more every week.

 

This site has daily children's book recommendations as well as other information in the world of children's books.

 

Simply type in the title of a book you have enjoyed and the website will give you recommendations for new books to try based off of your favorites.