Puxi Hub Library Guide: Science Sites

Database Usernames and Passwords

This link to passwords will only work for those with a saschina.org email address. Usernames and passwords are only for our school community and must not be shared outside of SAS.

Gale Science in Context provides information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Delivers up-to-date information on frequently studied topics in biology, chemistry, physics, math, and more. Integrates millions of full-text articles that include global publications, science experiments, and interactive simulations.

Gale Interactive Science takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the lab to the classroom. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience.

MIT Open Courseware Highlights for High School

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies empowers learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, and populations. Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. 

The Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.

• Center for International Environmental Law

  Reports published every year on important environmental issues

• Environmental Performance Index

  Ranks 180 countries on 32 performance indicators across 11 issue categories

• EPA

  Demographic, climate change, environmental justice, etc.

• EWG

  Toxic, consumer products, energy, farming, etc.

• IISD

  An independent think tank championing solutions to the world's sustainability challenges

• NASA

  Timely news and information about Earth’s changing climate

• NOAA

  World’s largest provider of weather and climate data

• OECD

  Pollution, policies, natural resources

• PANGAEA

  Atmosphere, ecology, biosphere, fisheries, etc.

• Plants of the World Online

  By the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

• Statistics Canada

  Human activity and the environment

• UNEP

  Statistical data published by United Nations Environmental Programme

• USDA Nutrient Database

  Contains a complete nutrition profile for various food and drink items

• World Health Organization

• WWF

  Conservation science data and tools

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research. This powerful tool can be used for in-classroom demonstrations or help with homework and research assignments. 

• ALFRED

          Allele frequency

• eBird

  Everything bird data.

• Gorongosa Wild Cam

• The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

• NASA Satellite Data

• National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

• National Wildlife Health Center

• Ocean Tracks

• The Paleobiology Database

• PubMed NCBI National Library of Medicine

  "PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."

• RCSB Protein Data Bank

  "[...] explore the 3D world of proteins and nucleic acids"

• Science Direct

• USDA nutrient database

  "Contains a complete nutrition profile for various food and drink items."

Bring science to life and help students visualize key concepts. Aligned to the scope and sequence of introductory college classes, Gale Interactive: Chemistry engages students and aids comprehension by pairing reference material with manipulatable 3D models.

• American Chemical Society (ACS)

• Chemistry Views

  "ChemistryViews is the online science news magazine of Chemistry Europe, an organization of 16 European chemical societies."

• ChemSpider

  "ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources."

• NCBI PubChem

• Praxilabs

• The Royal Society of Chemistry

• Virtual Chemistry Laboratory

• Virtual lab

• American Association of Physics Teachers

• Cosmic Ray-eLab

• http://iopscience.iop.org/

• http://iopscience.iop.org/0031-9120

• http://scitation.aip.org/content/aapt/journal/tpt

• https://www.edumedia-sciences.com/en/node/402-forces

• Interactive Video Vignettes

• Iteration

• KCVS

  King’s University in Edmonton, Canada, web site of King’s Center for Visualization in Science

• NASA

  National Aeronautics and Space Administration, undergraduate computer programs to download

• oPhysics

  Interactive Physics Simulations listed by topic

• Particle Physics: OnScreen Science

  Accurate subatomic particle decay events simulation with analysis tools

• PhET

  The University of Colorado, Boulder, USA, web site for Physics Education Technology.

• The Physics Aviary

  From Boston University, includes topics for AP physics courses

• Physlets and HTML5 Simulations for physics from Andrew Duffy

• SERC, The Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College

• Simulations

• Statistical and Thermal Physics